Steph's Wordplay

My thoughts on reading, writing and all things word related.

Writing Every Day – Update

Well, it’s been 2 weeks since I started my “writing every day” odyssey and it’s working pretty well so far!  I’ve managed to write something every day, save one.

One of the more interesting things I’ve noticed so far is that I’m not having to struggle for things to do.  Not sure if the Muse simply happened to choose now to be stimulated or if writing every day is stimulating.  Also, switching back and forth between fan fiction and blog posts has been helpful.  I’ve read that taking a break often spurs creativity and doing the context shift from fiction to blog writing has definitely done that.

I’m also finding that not pressuring myself to write a certain amount is helpful.  Some days I’ve just done some editing and maybe 100 words.  Other days, I’ve been able to crank through over 1000.  But either way, I’m doing something every single day.

And it feels good! 🙂

If you’ve tried writing every day as an experiment, or if you just write every day naturally, let me know how it’s working for you in the comments!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

