Steph's Wordplay

My thoughts on reading, writing and all things word related.

Writing Something Every Day

As part of re-booting for the new year, I’ve been thinking about a lot of the advice I’ve seen from writers across the board about writing something every day. Sometimes I find it really difficult to motivate myself to write, even when I have something I’ve been working on or an idea in place. The commonly suggested solution is to write at least a little something every day. I believe the theory is that it’ll get easier over time and your writing will get better and it’ll all just snowball into yummy goodness.

I’ve got no idea if this will work or not, but I’m going to give it a shot. My plan is to either post something here or work on an existing piece of fanfiction every day and see what happens. After a few months, I’ll see how it feels. Wish me luck!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Writing Something Every Day

  1. ProfeJMarie (Janet Rundquist) on said:

    Yes! Daily is key for me… I feel a huge difference in my ability to get the words out more freely and feel much more connected to my plot and characters when I do this. Back to the routine I go, too!

  2. Pingback: Saturday Summation – 12 January 2013 | It'll All Work Out

Leave a comment